KLG 2017:Editor's Preface

This volume contains papers presented at KLG 2017: klingt gut! 2017 – International Symposium on Sound held on June 8-10 in Hamburg.


In fall 2014, we started with the idea of bringing an event at the intersection of sound art and audio technology to the Arts and Media Campus Hamburg. After much thoughts and discussion in the Audio Engineering Society Student Section Hamburg’s board and membership we devised the plan for a small event within the Hamburg electronic arts and media scene in mind – yet the very first "klingt gut!" ("sounds good!") symposium in June 2015 had remarkable international attendance.

Since then the event constantly grew. With the 2017 installment of "klingt gut! International Symposium on Sound" we received more than 100 submissions in the categories lecture, performative lecture, installation, performance, fixed media concert / screening, and VR presentation, from independent artists and from scholars from 55 Universities, Music Schools, Audio Research Institutes and Production Companies from 20 countries.
June 2017 saw sound artists, composers, audio experts and sound engineers from around the world coming to Hamburg, presenting their work and meeting fellows and colleagues at "klingt gut!". Participants enjoyed a series of lectures, panel discussions and tutorials, as well as cutting edge concerts, installations and performances, including hands-on workshops with professionals like the "godfather of surround microphones" Michael Williams or award-winning Foley artist Sue Harding, as well as keynote lectures by renowned sound artists and scholars Barry Truax and Sabine Breitsameter.


We would like to thank our generous sponsors and supporters: Ableton, Audient, bvft, d&b audiotechnik, KSdigital, macom, Microtech Gefell, Ing. Büro Pinguin, Presonus, Roland, Steinberg, XI-Machines and Yamaha Europe.


Organizing Committee at HAW Hamburg / AES Hamburg Student Section:
Patrick Dadaczynski, Eneko Ezquerro Gomez, Thomas Gimpel, Carsten Goldberg, Malte Hildebrandt, Sergej Knak, Lars Kracht, Sven Kubin, Adrian Limmroth, Thi Viet Quynh Nguyen, Davi Rodiguez de Lima, Nadja Rutsch, Maryam Safi, Fabian Schmidtke, Friedrich Schimmel, Antonia Schwab, Hauke Thiele, Melanie Trautmann, Anca Tutescu, Ruben van den Belt, Cornelius Wilkening, Sascha Wollin


klingt gut! 2017 – International Symposium on Sound was organized and managed with EasyChair.

Thomas Görne
Philipp Kessling
January 8, 2019